Electoral Literacy Club


Electoral Literacy Club are being set up in the country to promote Electoral Literacy in all age groups of the Indian citizens through engaging and interesting activities and hands on experiences but in an apolitical, neutral and non partisan manner. Electoral Literacy Clubs are especially being set up in colleges all across India targeting the new voters(In the age group of 18 to 21 years old) pursuing their graduation.


  1. To educate the targeted populations about voter registration, electoral process and related maters.
  2. To facilitate EVM and VVPAT familiarization.
  3. To help the target audience understand the value of their vote and exercise their right to franchise in a confident, comfortable and ethical manner.
  4. To harness the potential of ELC members for carrying the electoral literacy in communities.
  5. To develop a culture of electoral participation and maximize the inform and ethical voting and follow the principal “Every Vote Counts” and ” No Voter to be Left Behind”.

Electoral Literacy Club of Tehatta Sadananda mahavidyalaya

Our college has an active Electoral Literacy Club formed with teachers and students. They perform various activities to aware other students and others people of their locality about the importance and procedure of voting.

Members of ECL of Tehatta Sadananda mahavidyalaya 

  1. Dr. Nilanjan De (Principal)-Chair Person
  2. Abu Toyab Sk, Assistant Professor of History Dept. -Member
  3. Hoimonti Banerjee, SACT of Political Science Dept. – Co-ordinator
  4. Basanti Rani Bag, Assistant Professor of Philosophy Dept.- Member
  5. Sumit Kumar Nath, SACT of Philosophy Dept.- Member
  6. Anjan Kumar, SACT of Education Dept.- Member
  7. Armina Khatun, Student- Member
  8. Sayan Pramanik, Student- Member
  9. Amina Khatun,Student- Member
  10. Dip Dhara,Student- Member
  11. Souvik Shee, Student- Member

Latest Event Organized by ECL of Tehatta Sadananda mahavidyalaya 

Main Purpose of this program to engage college students hands on experience to sensitise them on their electoral rights and familiarize them with the electoral process of registration and voting. The program was started at 12pm. Thirty students attended this program. Several number of teaching and non teaching staff were present in this program. Welcome Speech of the program was delivered by the program convenor Hoimonti Banerjee. Dr Nilanjan De and Dr. Pritam das also delivered two speeches on Electoral Literacy. A power Point presentation and a mock poll were organised by students to explain the process of polling and Casting.